Meet The Board Members 2021


F.R. “Bob” Romero,  Board Chairman

Bob Romero has been on the Board of Directors of El Valle since 2000 and currently serves as Chairman of the Board of Directors.  Mr. Romero is a native Taoseño.  He has been a teacher and educator for the past 38 years.  Mr. Romero is the co-author of ‘A Brief History of Taos’ and is past president of the Taos County Historical Society.  Mr. Romero has a Masters Degree from Adams State College and has taught college classes at various institutions.  He has a long and distinguished record of public service, serving as a Trustee for La Serna Land Grant Association and as a member of the Board of the Taos Municipal School District, Taos Local Television, the Taos Optimist Club and Kit Carson Historical Museums.  Mr. Romero was recently reappointed by the Board of County Commissioners to serve on the Taos County Water Advisory Board.

Delfino (Del) Torres,  Board Vice-Chairman

-Retired Army Sergeant Major (23 Years Active Duty)
-Retired State of NM - Director Income Support
-First Chairman, Valle de Los Ranchos Sanitation District
-Federal Programs Director, Taos County
-Recreation Director, Taos County
-Director, Juvenile Detention Facility Taos County
-Equipment Operator, Moily Corp., Questa
-Native Taoseno (Talpa, NM)
-Board Member, Talpa Mutual Domestic Water Association
-Board Member, Talpa Camposanto Association
-Member Eagles - Member Lulac
-Board Member Valle de Los Ranchos Sanitation District


Andrew Chavez - Board Member

Andrew Chavez,  Board Treasurer

Andrew Chavez currently serves on the board.  He previously served on the Board from 2008 to 2012.  He has also previously served on the Board for several years as a non-voting Board member representing the Llano Quemado MDWCA.  He has been a Taos County Commissioner.  He is a past President of the New Mexico Association of Counties. He is President of the Llano Quemado MDWCA Board. He served as the President of the New Mexico State Employees Credit Union Board as well as being on several other professional organization boards.  Andrew is retired after working in several positions including mathematics teacher, finance manager, budget analyst, administrative services director, human resource manager as well as other positions.


Phillip Maestas, Board Secretary

Phillip Maestas has been a Board Member since July 2019.  Mr. Maestas served as a big brother/big sister for 4 years.  He has been the owner of Taos Custom Builders since 1997.  Phillip has been building custom homes in the Taos County area for over 20 years.  He works with the USDA program to help people in need of weathering the elderly homes in Taos County for 8 years. 



Gabriel J. Romero,  Board Member

Gabriel J. Romero was first elected to the Board of El Valle de los Ranchos in 2001. He served as Board Chairman from 2007 until January 2010. He also served as a member of the Board of County Commissioners in Taos County for eight years. Mr. Romero has served on the Northern Pueblo Regional Planning Organization (NPRPO) and on the Extraterritorial Planning Commission. He is an active member of San Francisco de Asis Catholic Church in Ranchos de Taos where he had coordinated the annual mudding of the Church for the past several years. Mr. Romero is the publisher of ‘Christmas in Taos, the Holiday Guide’ which is published annually.